Thursday 10 January 2019

The Ploctones

20.30 Ainsi

They’re back! The bad boys of the Dutch jazz scene are coming to Maastricht again. It’s practically impossible to stick a label on The Ploctones – Rock-ish Avant-Funk Jazz is the closest we could get. Regardless, their unpredictable grooves and dizzying melodies will leave your head pounding and your heart spinning. Opening the show: soulful southern vocalist Shadrack Piere and his international agglomeration of jazz talent featuring some of the best Maastricht Conservatorium alumni: OneWord

The Ploctones swing, vibrate, groove, howl, whack, and rock like no-one else. Featuring some of the best musicians in NL: Anton Goudsmit, Efraim Trujillo, Jeroen Vierdag & Martijn Vink, they’ve been playing together since 2004. Numerous records, prizes and international tours later, they’ve become a Dutch jazz institution. Separately they’ve performed with everyone from Courtney Pine, to Gregory Porter, Eric Vloeimans to Pat Metheney, but don’t let that resume fool you. Together, as The Ploctones, Goudsmith, Trujillo, Vierdag, and Vink really shine. They’re a tour de force of rhythmic intensity and creative compositions and their infectious energy will have you dancing in no time.

Anton Goudsmit – Guitar
Efraim Trujillo – Saxophone
Jeroen Vierdag – Bass
Martijn Vink – Drums

Opener: Schadrack  & OneWord

Weaving together his Afro-Carribean heritage with childhood influences of Blues, Soul, and Gospel,  Schadrack’s sultry vocals can’t help but pull at your heartstrings. An exciting new singer with a tale to tell, he’ll be performing a combination of his own work as well as fresh new takes on soul, jazz, and hip-hop classics.

Schadrack will be joined by OneWord, a musical collective featuring some of the best Maastricht Conservatorium Alumni, together with New York’s most exciting up-and-comers. With Jazz as the common denominator, OneWord fuses the hearts and minds of seven friends from Germany, France, Belgium, The Netherlands and the U.S., to create powerful songs that transcend man-made boundaries.

Schadrack Pierre – Lead Vocal
Sara Decker – Vocal
Eva Catharina – Vocal
Joos Vandueren – Tenor Saxophone
David Aelmans – Guitar
Leonard Steigerwald – Piano
Mateusz Malcharek – Bass
Jeroen Truyen – Drums

Presented in collaboration with the Theater aan het Vrijthof

Denk aan

New Cool Collective, Benjamin Herman,


The PloctonesAnton GoudsmitEfraim TrujilloJeroen VierdagMartijn Vink

Music player



Jazz Maastricht playlist
{{ currentTime / duration }}